Former Planned Parenthood Board Member and Mayor calls pro-lifers “forces of darkness” later apologizes under pressure


Watch Apology Here
Sparks flew at Grand Rapids Mayor George Heartwell Tuesday night.
People said Heartwell wants taxpayer dollars to support Planned Parenthood — and they’re not having it.

Nearly a dozen people lined up at the Tuesday City Commission meeting to confront Heartwell following his comments at a recent Planned Parenthood fundraiser.

“I was deeply grieved when I heard that at my home and I basically started crying in my home,” a resident said.

Many criticized his keynote address at the event, during which he said said “the forces of darkness” were keeping taxpayer money from funding the nation’s largest abortion provider.

“Forces of darkness? Darkness equates for Satan,” said a resident.

“Proud member of the forces of darkness. I was highly insulted by your comments,” said another resident.

Heartwell took time to apologize.

“My comments were terribly insensitive and I regret them. For those whom I hurt with those comments, I deeply apologize,” he said.

“You are the mayor of a city of churches and life, and regardless of the imprudent and hurtful comments that you made,” said another resident. “And I appreciate your apology.”

Heartwell is a former board chairman of Planned Parenthood.

Leave a comment