Right-to-die legislation opposed in Connecticut as becoming a duty-to-die

Is it compassionate “Aid in Dying” for those who are terminally ill, or is it “assisted suicide” that could turn into a “duty to die”? Those are the questions state lawmakers are facing this week during a big push for the “Aid in Dying” bill, reports WTNH.

Advocates are asking lawmakers to pass this law that would allow physicians to prescribe a lethal dose to those who are within six months of dying from a terminal illness and are mentally able to make the decision,the report.


Connecticut’s H.B. No. 7015 reads:


    To allow a physician to dispense or prescribe medication at the request of a mentally competent patient that has a terminal illness that such patient may self-administer to bring about his or her death.

According to the Family Institute of Connecticut which is opposing the legislation, a public hearing will be held on March 18th – this week.

Death with Dignity, a pro-right-to-die organization has published a map showing a summary of the status of current death with dignity-related legislation in the US and what they see coming in the months ahead as the 2015 legislative session progresses, “In all, 22 legislatures plus the District of Columbia will have seen a bill proposal by the end of their current session.” they say on their website.

Death with Dignity euthenasia legislation 2015

Earlier this month, O.J. Brigance, a former Baltimore Ravens football player and current senior advisor to player development, testified against a Maryland right-to-die bill.

OJ Brigance Baltimore Ravens opposes Right to Die

Brigance was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s disease, which has no cure, in May 2007. The measure would allow adults given only six months to live the ability to get a prescription for drugs to hasten their death.

I did not create my life so, I have no right to negate my life,” he said from his wheelchair.

“The thought that there would be a legal avenue for an individual to take his or her own life in a moment of despair, robbing family, friends and society of their presence and contribution to society deeply saddens me and is a tragedy,” Brigance testified.

Not Dead Yet, a national, grassroots disability rights group that opposes legalization of assisted suicide and euthanasia, is fighting right-to-die legislation in New Jersey and lawmakers have introduced similar legislation in Nevada..

NJ Right to die

As I have reported before, the concept that killing a person is dignifying was developed by supporters of Planned Parenthood founder, Margaret Sanger.

In fact, by 1952, Planned Parenthood founder, Margaret Sanger was open about her belief in Euthanasia. This 1952 letter from the Euthanasia Society of America clearly shows Margret Sanger on the American Advisory Board of the Euthanasia Society of America. Read more about Sanger and her supporters here.


Recently, advocates of right to die organizations which supported Brittany Maynard’s decision to kill herself had ties to Planned Parenthood.

Read about those connections here.


The 29 year-old became the public face of the controversial right-to-die movement when she moved to Oregon so she could end her life, which she did.


According to the Connecticut legislation proposed, a request for what the law calls “aid in dying” would look like this:


    I, .…, am an adult of sound mind.

    I am a resident of the State of Connecticut.

    I am suffering from …., which my attending physician has determined is an incurable and irreversible medical condition that will, within reasonable medical judgment, result in death within six months from the date on which this document is executed. This diagnosis of a terminal illness has been confirmed by another physician.

    I have been fully informed of my diagnosis, prognosis, the nature of medication to be dispensed or prescribed to aid me in dying, the potential associated risks, the expected result, feasible alternatives to aid in dying and additional health care treatment options, including palliative care and the availability of counseling with a psychologist, psychiatrist or licensed clinical social worker.

    I request that my attending physician dispense or prescribe medication that I may self-administer for aid in dying. I authorize my attending physician to contact a pharmacist to fill the prescription for such medication, upon my request.


    …. I have informed my family of my decision and taken family opinions into consideration.

    …. I have decided not to inform my family of my decision.

    …. I have no family to inform of my decision.

    I understand that I have the right to rescind this request at any time.

    I understand the full import of this request and I expect to die if and when I take the medication to be dispensed or prescribed. I further understand that although most deaths occur within three hours, my death may take longer and my attending physician has counseled me about this possibility.

    I make this request voluntarily and without reservation, and I accept full responsibility for my decision to request aid in dying.

    Signed: ….

    Dated: ….


    By initialing and signing below on the date the person named above signs, I declare that:

    Witness 1 …. Witness 2 ….

On op-ed on the legislation by brain cancer victim, Maggie Karner, opposed to the legislation calls a right-to-die really a duty-to-die, she writes:

    In Oregon, where assisted suicide is legal, the top reasons people give for wanting a deadly prescription are fear of losing autonomy (91.5 percent), fear of being less able to engage in activities (88.7 percent) and fear of loss of dignity (79.3 percent). These are not good enough reasons to upend the medical axiom of “first, do no harm.”

    I encourage the caring voters of Connecticut to once again contact their state legislators and insist that assisted suicide has no place in our state of independent thinkers. Slogans of “right to die” are just words to people like me who need your constant and continued support to avoid a “duty to die.”

Read it in full here.

Connecticut pro-lifers are asking for the public to speak out by submitting written testimony to judtestimony@cga.ct.gov and filling the hearing room in opposition to the bill.

Find out more here.

One Response to “Right-to-die legislation opposed in Connecticut as becoming a duty-to-die”

Leave a Reply

