Lisa Robertson “I am pro-choice only when it’s God’s choice”

A HuffPo interview with Duck Dynasty couple Al and Lisa Robertson has gone viral after the TV family member said that she was pro-choice, but regrets her abortion at 16 years-old.

Lisa now says that her words are being taken the wrong way because, she says, she opposes abortion and is, “pro-choice only when it’s God’s choice.”

Lisa and Al Robertson abortion

Nancy Redd spoke with the couple about their book, A New Season: A Robertson Family Love Story of Brokenness and Redemption and specifically covered the section of the book where Lisa speaks about her abortion.

Lisa Robertson abortion Huffo

The questions were no doubt leading. Lisa appears to regret her abortion and even Redd acknowledged that she had repented of the abortion.

Redd asked Lisa, “When you look at that choice and that option don’t you think that every woman should have that choice and that ability?”

Lisa responded by telling Redd that not a day goes by that she doesn’t think about her baby, “At the time that was the answer that I sought. As I sit here today, that’s not the answer I would have chosen had I known better, had I been more mature in my thinking.”

Lisa told Redd that she doesn’t feel like she should have had that “choice” and that, “God is the only Person that has the choice to take a life, or to bring into the world a life.”

It was after that statement that Redd asked her if she would consider herself “pro-choice.

Lisa paused for a few seconds and then responded, “Yes, I would.”

If you watch the entire interview you will scratch your head on how a woman who so adamantly regretted her abortion could call herself pro-choice.

For pro-lifers this is puzzling. Her words do not match what she actually stated. But, one has to take her at her word. Unless, of course, you realize that most people are not that media savvy. HuffPo on the other hand drives an abortion agenda. So anything they can grasp to make a Duck Dynasty woman appear pro-choice is a win win for their ideology.

The question haunted me for hours, until I did some checking online.

I discovered that Lisa felt she was entrapped by the HuffPo interviewer and what Lisa meant by saying she was pro-choice was that she was for God’s choice, at least that is what she said in clarification on her Facebook page.

Dear Friends, please be in prayer for me today. I am fretful over the interview with HuffPostLive yesterday. I am pro-choice only when it’s Gods choice. I was so flustered over her questions & just wasn’t aware that she was trying to trap me. Call me naive. I had an abortion @ 16 & I clearly stated that it was a decision that I’ve regretted all my life. I also stated that I thought God was the only person qualified to take a life because he made the life. Maybe I will get to minister to people who otherwise would shut me out but I am clearly pro-God & pro-life. I hate entrapment but failed to see it happening.”

Lisa Robertson abortion

Watch the interview here and judge for yourself.

5 Responses to “Lisa Robertson “I am pro-choice only when it’s God’s choice””

  1. Kristine Vollmer Says:

    Why even use the term? 😦

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. I think you nailed it when you wrote “For pro-lifers this is puzzling. Her words do not match what she actually stated. But, one has to take her at her word. Unless, of course, you realize that most people are not that media savvy. HuffPo on the other hand drives an abortion agenda. So anything they can grasp to make a Duck Dynasty woman appear pro-choice is a win win for their ideology.”

    Thanks for sharing this information. 🙂

  3. […] when asked whether or not she would consider herself “pro-choice,” as quoted by Saynsumthn’s Blog, January […]

  4. […] blogged about the interview yesterday (read here) after I located this statement by Lisa on her Facebook page shortly after it […]

Leave a Reply

